Simbi logo white is a talent-exchanging network. More »
Join the TribeStart with 50 after offering a service.

Genealogy Brick Wall Help

8


8 per unit - Virtual OK

I will help you break down a brick wall, genealogically speaking.

NOTE: This is NOT a service to find as many generations as possible... this service is for people who already have done some research and are stuck and would like help finding ONE record or person, not an entire genealogy.... I do offer assistance by finding one entire generation (https://simbi.com/kelley-davis/find-one-generation), but to do another complete genealogy is not feasible time wise for me at present time.

Often times people get stuck on genealogical research because they don't know where to look or what to look for. Sometimes, just having another pair of eyes looking over the research helps.

For 10 Simbi, I will look over your research and help you break through a brick wall - i.e. parents' name, a birth record, a death record, etc. Upon completion of this, I will give you a research report detailing where I looked and what I found, including every source.

Please message me first, as sometimes what you are looking for may actually be impossible. For example, most states did not require birth registrations until around 1900, though a good number of areas had required them before, so if you are looking for a birth registration in a time when they didn't exist, I will be able to let you know before we make a deal!

Should I not be able to find the information you were searching for, I will let you know AND send you the detailed report of where I did search, so that at least you know where not to check for your genealogical information.

Training & Qualifications


I have been working on my own personal genealogy since 1999 and have also been helping others with theirs for the past few years.

I have experience working with Alsatian, German and some Danish records, and am VERY adept at searching both Ancestry (and its conglomerate of sites) and FamilySearch. I am very versed in several US states' records - Pennsylvania and Iowa in particular, but am not afraid to try to look at other states or countries..... so give me a try

Availability & Preferences


Sundays, but my work weeks vary for me

Trading Preference: I’m flexible, just hit me up!

Reviews of Kelley


Kathy received unit of Genealogy Brick Wall Help from Kelley
May 21, 2017
Kelley provided me with some great information and now I can move on in the search for my lost genealogy. Thanks so much!
Janice received unit of One generation of a family tree from Kelley
May 06, 2017
Kelley does meticulous work. I was scared to do research outside of the US; Kelley makes it look easy. Thanks for finding Carl's parents. I'm thrilled...!show more

Recommendations


Join the TribeStart with 50 after offering a service.

Kelley's other services


One generation of a family tree
I like the idea of being able to trade what I am strong at in exchange for something someone else is strong at doing. By trading strengths, we both benefit. I also like the idea of being able to ...
View

One generation of a family tree

About Kelley Wood-Davis

I have always been a lover of history, thanks to my father, who immersed me in it when I was young. I love detective shows, since my mother has always watched them. I am also a writer. I star...ted writing in crayon on construction paper as soon as I learned to spell. I love to read and learn. My parents encouraged me to read, and encouraged me to learn any and everything I could. Combining all of these loves into allows me to sleuth out and add flesh to family stories, and find new stories that haven't been told in creative ways. Not only do I find the who and the when, but I try to find the why and the how come... and the what happened next. Genealogy is a passion that allows me to do all of that. I have been working on genealogy since I was a senior in high school, and have taken several courses to help me improve my skills. I am constantly working on my own genealogy, adding to it and changing the narrative and the speculations as more and more data is added to the internet, as more and more records are open to the public, as more and more family members connect with me via my various platforms for sharing my information. My dream is to one day become more professional, but for now, I am still just an experienced amateur. I have focused primarily on American records, but am not afraid to venture out into new countries as needed, and can read enough German and French to at least get the gist of a document. Finding new sources and understanding them is a learning process with me, and I am not afraid to share the journey with those who need help. In my "real life" job I work in education, I am an avid crocheter and I love cats. My husband and I enjoy cooking, hiking and watching the stars.show more

Open to other proposals
Kelley Wood-Davis is looking for:
  • Language Lessons
  • Learning
  • Translation
  • Home
  • Experiences
  • Massage