Simbi logo white is a talent-exchanging network. More »
Join the TribeStart with 50 after offering a service.

Holistic gardening help

10


10 per hour

Don't have time to pull weeds? Don't know how or when to divide perennials? Want to stop using pesticides? Don't know what to do with all those leaves and lawn clippings? Trying to get started composting? Do you want to learn what "weeds" you can add to your salads? Are you not getting the yield you should?
My focus is getting more people to eat local healthy foods, and bringing awareness to our pollinator dilemma; and that starts right in their own home and yard. The flavor is better, you're reducing your carbon footprint by not buying trucked-in produce, and you're helping save millions of pollinators by not supporting conventional growing practices. Even if you were give away all your produce, the satisfaction you will get at harvest time from growing it yourself is immense!
Whether you are starting out in a brand new place, or reviving an old garden bed; whether you have a black, brown or green thumb; I want to help you with your garden! Don't have a yard? You CAN garden on the patio! Or simply add fresh herbs & salads to your meals with window boxes!
Build raised beds from lumber "waste" - all my raised beds are made from salvaged lumber I got FREE on Craigslist! You can also get FREE fill dirt and FREE horse manure to make your garden soil mix and fill the beds, or to rototill into the ground. Start a compost heap, or a vermicompost (worms, not vermin) bin for additional nutrients for your plants! Build it with FREE pallets from Craigslist! You can make compost tea to use in watering indoor plants too!
Let me know how I can help you be successful in your holistic gardening endeavors!

Training & Qualifications


I've been gardening off and on for many years. I set up and helped maintain my mother's garden (pictured) while I spent some time living at home between homes. I also helped a friend start her two raised beds and porch pots. In 2014, another friend and I each bought our own places and are helping each other in converting the useless back lawns into gardens. We're building raised beds from lumber salvaged from Free Craigslist, and have been using the lasagna method to fill them.
Since then, I've been working on small projects to improve the yard, increase my yield, and learning how to garden without commercial fertilizers and ick- icides. I've integrated the hens, and am working on creating a hen-friendly garden so they can have more than just "their" space, and am hoping to add a hive of honey bees for plant pollination (and honey - yum!), but in the meantime I've planted lots of pollinator friendly perennials to attract them. I'm working on converting the front lawn as well, starting with a large herb garden, and adding pollinator friendly perennials.
In the garden-less months, there's still plenty of work to be done, notibly clean up and composting, and I spend much of my free time reading books about plants and gardening! (And scouring seed catalogs!)

Availability & Preferences


Weekends and evenings

Trading Preference: I’m flexible, just hit me up!

Reviews of Melissa


Shannon sold "Wonder Woman" Kit to Melissa
Mar 27, 2017
I enjoyed our interaction. Melissa was quick with the payment for shipping. She was easy to work with. :)
Shannon provided unit of Special Order for Melissa for Melissa
Mar 16, 2017
Melissa was efficient and I hope her girlfriends love my pamper kit! ♡
Laura received visit of Beginner hen-keep mentor Wellington from Melissa
Mar 08, 2017
Melissa spent quite a lot of time with me answering all my questions about bees and chickens. She's very knowledgeable and helpful and a great person ...to learn from. I look forward to being able to chat with her in the future!show more

Recommendations


Join the TribeStart with 50 after offering a service.

Melissa's other services


Beginner hen-keep mentor Wellington
Veteran
Sometimes I feel like I should have been born in another era, when people exchanged services and goods directly and locally, so I'm really happy to have come across this community! I hope they will...
View

Beginner hen-keep mentor Wellington

Any kind petsitting Wellington ONLY
Veteran
Sometimes I feel like I should have been born in another era, when people exchanged services and goods directly and locally, so I'm really happy to have come across this community! I hope they will...
View

Any kind petsitting Wellington ONLY

Melissa's requests


Melissa is requesting
Help me solar heat my garage(s)
Help setting up solar heat for my 1 car detached, and possibly my 2 car attached, garage. I'm a DIY, but I would like some guidance/assistance! I'd like to create something simple and effective wi...

Sometimes I feel like I should have been born in another era, when people exchanged services and goods directly and locally, so I'm really happy to have come across this community! I hope they will...

About Melissa Kindt

I work a corporate 8-5 job that pays the bills (barely) with little left over the little things that keep popping up needing fixed, including my own physical body. I believe in a healthy holistic lif...estyle that includes helping the community whether through volunteering, or bartering services and goods locally and affordably. I believe in having a small carbon footprint, which means getting goods and services locally, and helping to make them available as well. I try to offset my world-travel footprint by reducing my use/waste, avoiding poisonous chemicals, and buying/supporting organic and eco-conscious organizations. I'm a bit of a minimalist when it comes to materialism. My house is 920 square feet, and in a lot of ways, it's more than I need! I have always had a green thumb and really enjoy the garden. I'm a honey bee and pollinator ambassador and I believe in natural balance in the garden. I try to work with Nature instead of against her. I also love to be around animals and have several years experience grooming and training dogs; riding, training and caring for horses; and basic knowledge of other animals. I have 11 laying hens, 1 (currently empty) hive of honey bees, 2 cats and a working German Shepherd. I'm addicted to orchids, but I am still learning about them. I'm really good at digging into problems and finding solutions. I love researching a topic and learning. I'm a member of Larimer County Search and Rescue, Search and Rescue Dogs of Colorado, and Search and Rescue Dogs of the United States. My K9 - Hawk - is in training and we will be certified in the spring of 2017. We've been training for wilderness air scent, urban/suburban trailing (tracking), human remains detection, article search, and water search.show more

Open to other proposals
Melissa Kindt is looking for:
  • Just for Fun
  • Cheap & Easy
  • Handyman services
  • Auto Maintenance
  • Pet Training
  • Petsitting
  • Hair styling
  • Housesitting
  • Cleaning
  • Adventure
  • Acupuncture