Simbi logo white is a talent-exchanging network. More »
Join the TribeYou start with 100 once you join and offer a service.

Learn To Rent Rooms In Your Home


20 simbi per hour - Virtual OK

I will listen to your situation, ask lots of questions and offer advice based on personal experience, regarding how you can get started doing co-housing, by renting rooms in your home, or address existing co-housing challenges.

Training & Qualifications

I have personally benefited, and been successfully, co-housing for over 15 years.

I live with up to 3 additional, long term, housemates and have turned this hobby into a very lucrative side business.

The topics to discuss will be the client's choice. A sample of topics we can address are;

Who is your target market?
Why do people choose to housemate?
How to find quality housemates?
Screening potential housemates. What red flags to look for?
What to charge?
Dealing with household friction or conflict
What amenities to offer?
Health & sanitation issues
Things to have available, or set up, to make everybody's life flow smoother
What are the tax advantages to having housemates.

Availability & Preferences

Afternoons & evenings are best. I am available by phone, Skype or Facetime. I will also schedule in person meetings, in the Phila area.

Trading Preference: I’m flexible, just hit me up!

Reviews of Alan

KJ received Help with Ideas to improve Simbi from Alan
Aug 11, 2016
Great talking to Alan. We're in the midst of implementing the idea he had!
Join the TribeYou start with 100 once you join and offer a service.

Alan's other services

Open Relationship Coaching
I think this is an excellent tool to allow people to connect, for the exchange or gifting of knowledge. It is almost like a digital version of what we achieve in the Burning Man community. I am here to learn & teach

Open Relationship Coaching

About Alan Silverman

Hello, I am a stable, unconventional, competent, drama free man who has taken life's winding & self guided path, finding meaning and happiness along the way. I am self made, self sufficient, se...lf employed, well traveled, non-bureaucratized and a lot of fun. Over the course of my life, I have been a renovation artist, a college teacher, a real estate developer, a yoga studio owner, a community builder and a landlord. I own a ridiculously huge assortment of tools from virtually every construction trade, and know how to use them all, well. I socializing in mostly "alternative" communities, practice ethical non-monogamy, identify as a Polyamorist and have explored various types of "open" relationships, for over 20 years. Over that time, I have come to understand that there are many forms of "open" and many forms of closed. I believe what a relationship looks like should be decided, ethically & honestly, by the people in the relationship and nobody else. I am not into televised sports, chain restaurants, clothing labels or most other mainstream culture. Rather, I am constantly learning & a huge documentary watcher. Over the last ten years I have watched thousands of documentaries & foreign films. Frequently watched subjects include; The environment & the effects of mankind on the earth, Economics, Peak oil, 20th Century history, Sociology, Government, Social Liberties, Etc. I also enjoy Independent films & cerebral television with good production value (ie, Breaking Bad, House of Cards, American Horror Story, Weeds, Game of Thrones, Firefly) NPR & PBS My hobbies, interests & talents are diverse. Pets, Photography, Relationships, Sensuality, Massage, Art, Home Renovations, Small Business, Festivals, Dancing, Music, Fire Spinning & Flow Arts, the Environment, History, Sociology, Humanity, Permaculture & occasional Kink. My diet is mostly home cooked foods & rarely comes out of a box. I try to avoid high fructose like the plague that it is, preferring to eat healthy, real, home cooked food over "food product." I am communicative, nurturing, honest and loyal to my friends. I do not tolerate, people who lie, steal or who are otherwise narcissistic, and am respectful of others, understand boundaries, both following and setting them. Integrity, communication, honesty & mutual consent are guiding principals. Currently, I live with three housemates in one of the 4 adjoining houses I own, leaving time to do the things I am really passionate about, including activism, teaching, mentoring, learning, raising urban free-range hens and participating in the local Burning Man community. show more

Open to other proposals
Alan Silverman is looking for:
  • Fun & Quirky
  • Tutoring & Mentoring
  • Learning
  • Business
  • Home
  • Experiences
  • Fitness
  • Music & Audio
  • Art & Design