is a talent-exchanging network. More »
Join the TribeStart with 50 after offering a service.

Beginning Beekeeping Q&A - 30 min


20 per session Virtual OK

If you are looking to start beekeeping, I highly suggest talking with a beekeeper to get a good grounding before buying a lot of equipment or choosing a hive location. In this 30 minute session, I will describe what you will need to get started beekeeping, and field any questions you may have about equipment, placement of hives, the type of beekeeping management you want to do, anything you may have a question about. It will be an open discussion format, where I will give you as much information as I can and you are welcome to change the topic or ask another question if you like. These kinds of talks can go on for a very long time, and this is why I have capped our session at 30 minutes. I will take notes on what we have discussed. You are welcome to add on another session if you would like to talk further. Personally, I have had my hives for 6 years and still have the original colony that I started with as a beginner beekeeper. I have been a part of multiple beekeeping organizations and associations in the states in which I have had the hives, in the state of Tennessee and in the state of Missouri. I have done anything from collect swarms, to creating a walk away split, to buying bees and equipment online and in local areas, as well as move a hive in the back of a truck!

Training & Qualifications

I have 6 years first hand experience beekeeping. I currently have two thriving hives. I have kept bees in Missouri and Tennessee. I am a part if two local beekeeping associations, and have access to crowd sourced information on all things beekeeping! I have attended specially beekeeping classes, such as top bar hive construction and queen rearing. I hand extract and have sold my own honey over the years.

Availability & Preferences

The weekends, if I'm not working for a few hours teaching a class.

Trading Preference: I’m flexible, just hit me up!


Join the TribeStart with 50 after offering a service.

About Melissa Fryer

I am a wife and mother of two girls, constantly working on diy projects. I am a life time learner. I am a small business owner, currently teaching painting classes to adults, kids and couples, going o...n 5 years now. For the past 10 years I have also worked in bakeries and owned my own business making high end designer cakes. I dabbled in working with children's books. I have many hobbies and skills, and very much look forward to sharing them! These include beekeeping, gardening, backyard chicken care, cake design, painting, printmaking, screen printing, ceramics, and more. I attended art school and received two degrees there, in Printmaking and Ceramics. I have experience in numerous types of art mediums, just ask!show more

Open to other proposals
Melissa Fryer is looking for:
  • Children's Activities
  • Children's Lessons
  • Electrical
  • Pet Training
  • Petsitting
  • Digital Marketing
  • Language Lessons
  • Learning
  • Art Lessons
  • Classes & Webcasts
  • Marketing
  • Legal
  • Cleaning
  • Home
  • Gardening
  • Tours & Excursions
  • Experiences
  • Travel
  • New Age
  • Adventure
  • Life Coaching
  • Counseling & Therapy
  • Chiropractic
  • Massage
  • Pilates
  • Dance
  • Entertainment & Performance
  • Craftwork
  • Custom Art