is a talent-exchanging network. More »
Join the TribeStart with 50 after offering a service.

Ukrainian Pysanky Egg Class


200 per unit - - Posted Feb 16, 2017

I will teach an afternoon or morning-long lesson on the creation of traditional Ukrainian-style Pysanky eggs, in my Philadelphia home. The goal will be for each attendee to leave the class with a real emptied eggshell that has been written (and dyed) with a basic traditional design using a wax-resist (batik) technique.

This is NOT a class for children under the age of twelve, and it is preferred that attendees be high school (with accompanying adult) or adult age. You may contact me about my simplified, Slovak-style Pysanky format for younger children. Both my husband and I have our clearances, but I insist that at least one related adult be present in my home for the duration of the class for any minor who attends, please. This process involves permanent dye and fire, and small hot wax burns are common. Please include participants with special needs at your own risk and discretion - my grandmother with Parkinson's, for example, is not a good candidate for this project, as she is at extra danger for burns. Small refreshments may be provided, but guests must inform me a week in advance of any food sensitivities in the group.

A group of up to four (plus any necessary, nonparticipating chaperones) will be accommodated (a fifth, though allowed, will cause a bit of a tight squeeze at the worktable and a traffic jam at the dye table), and a typical lesson will last three hours, though I tend to block out up to four. I provide materials to work with, including already-emptied eggshells, pencils, writing tools, beeswax, dyes, and candles. Attendees assume all liability for burns that may ensue. Scout groups are required to have two leaders present, and are invited to please let me know in advance if there is a particular related badge requirement they seek to complete during the lesson.

Lessons will be available in my Philadelphia home as my work schedule allows, though I am willing to discuss making arrangements to travel within a roughly one hour radius of the city as my husband's work schedule allows.

Training & Qualifications

I have been developing my skills at this art form since the age of seven, and have been involved in teaching others the craft for the past ten years. I largely distribute my work through local sale, through donations, and on etsy as time permits.

Availability & Preferences

Saturdays, Sunday afternoons, occasional Monday and Friday mornings, as my schedule allows.

Trading Preference: I prefer exchanging services


Join the TribeStart with 50 after offering a service.